We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
What is Health Entrepreneurship?
Health entrepreneurs identify opportunities to address challenges related to health (public health, medicine, etc.) through innovative approaches.
Library Resources
The library has several librarians that support specific health disciplines, including Biology, Public Health, Kinesiology, and Pharmacy. This guide highlights a few key resources that you can use for health research.
For more in-depth information, visit the following Research Guides:
In addition, the University of Toronto has a robust Entrepreneurship Guide that includes a page on Health Data and Statistics.
Scopus
- ScopusAn interdisciplinary database that includes research in public health, biology, biomedical, and other health research topics.
How to use Scopus for Health Entrepreneurship research?
Scopus is searchable using Boolean Operators and keywords. For help creating your search strategy, contact a librarian.
- Scopus: How to conduct a basic searchTutorial, including video and text versions, on how to conduct basic searches in Scopus.
Openly Available Resources
Health Statistics
- Health StatisticsFrom Statistics Canada, provides data and insights about the health of the population, determinants of health and the scope and utilization of Canada's health care resources.
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
- Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)CIHI is an independent, not-for-profit organization, which publishes a range of statistical tables, reports and analyses.
- Patient Cost EstimatorThis CIHI tool allows you to estimate the average cost of various services provided in hospitals.
Health Infobase
- Health Infobase - Health Data in CanadaData tools, infographics, charts and blogs about health data in Canada, including diseases and disorders, drugs and vaccines, healthy living and environment, injuries and death, population groups and substance use from various Canadian government agencies.
NCBI
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PubMed Central
- PubMedArticles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
How to use PubMed for Health Entrepreneurship Research?
PubMed is searchable via Boolean and MeSH terms. For support in creating a search strategy, contact a librarian.
- PubMed Online TrainingPubMed Online Training includes tutorials, videos, and handouts.
bioRxiv
- bioRxiv.combioRxiv is a preprint server for biology, operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a research and educational institution. Preprints are openly available, but are not peer-reviewed.
Books
The Handbook for Market Research for Life Sciences Companies by ISBN: 9781138713567Publication Date: 2017-05-24The Handbook of Market Research for Life Science Companies is a practical manual that gives entrepreneurs real-world advice and tools to build a solid market model. The book provides tips, models and tools entrepreneurs can use to collect, interpret and present their market and integrate it into their business plan.
Research Ethics
Your research may require research ethics approval. For sensitive topics, or research that involves animals, human participants, or human tissue, remains, or bodily fluid, Waterloo's Office of Research Ethics can help you apply ethical considerations to the design, implementation, and dissemination establishes and maintains public trust in the research community more broadly.
Regulatory Information
- FDA Medical DevicesProvides news, events, safety information, and guidance on medical devices in the United States.
- Health Canada Classification of Health Products at the Device-Drug InterfaceInformation on how health products at the drug-medical device interface are classified in Canada.
- Health Canada Controlled Drugs & Substances ActLegislation related to the control of certain drugs, their precursors and other substances in Canada.
- Health Canada Legislation & GuidelinesInformation on how Food and Drug Regulations ensure that pharmaceutical drugs offered for sale in Canada are safe, effective and of high quality.
- Health Canada Medical DevicesInformation on how medical devices are approved in Canada.
- WHO Medical DevicesInformation on news, publications, events, and more on medical devices internationally.
Clinical Trials
What is a clinical trial?
A clinical trial is a research study conducted in humans to answer specific health questions. There are different phases and types of clinical trials.
For additional information on clinical trials visit ClinicalTrials.gov
Key Resources
The Office of Research provides detailed information about clinical trials, including what they are, different phases, and regulatory requirements, on their website.
- Clinical trials or studies involving a drug, medical device, or natural health productInformation page provided by the Office of Research Ethics.
Clinical Trial Registries
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- European Union Clinical Trials RegisterSearch for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA), as well as clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European pediatric-medicine development.
- Health Canada's Clinical Trials DatabaseProvides a listing of specific information relating to phase I, II and III clinical trials in patients. The database is managed by Health Canada and provides a source of information about Canadian clinical trials involving human pharmaceutical and biological drugs.
- ISRCTN registryThe ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation. Provided and maintained by BMC, Spring Nature.
- World Health Organization International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)Includes 16 national and international registries.