Research guides: Entrepreneurship, Innovation, & Commercialization: Library Resources

Market and Industry Resources

Frost & Sullivan
Provides market research and analysis.
Coverage: varies
Note: Users can view, but not download documents online. If you require PDFs, send your request to the Engineering Reference Team
Global Data Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.
Coverage: current
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current

PitchBook
NOTE: New users have to create an account with their Waterloo email address to access PitchBook.

more... less...

PitchBook provides access to private capital markets, including venture capital funding, private equity, and M&A transactions. Helpful for tracking startups and small companies.

Mergent Market Atlas
Industry reports covering North America, Latin America, Asia/Pacific, and Europe by country and region.
Coverage: current
Mergent Market Atlas provides business and financial information on more than 10,000 public companies in the U.S. Profiles for each company include: business descriptions, EDGAR documents, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock information and current headline news. The latest financial information may be presented by business and geographic segments. Mergent Atlas Online also provides the ability to create custom reports for a company, as well as compare reports of multiple companies. Also includes country statistical data and maps.

S&P Capital IQ
Funded by the Faculty of Mathematics. S&P Capital IQ allows users to perform deep company and industry research, monitor companies and markets, and identify and leverage key relationships.

more... less...

Once you access the S&P Capital IQ platform, please use your University of Waterloo email address as the user name and the rest is driven automatically. You will then receive a few automatic emails from “Support Service”.

Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

News and Business Resources

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Business Source Elite
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals.
Includes Harvard Business Review content.
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
PressReader
Access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
No Proxy/Off campus access to the Globe and Mail via PressReader.
Coverage: Varies

Academic Databases

Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
Google Scholar
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
SAGE Research Methods
Find books, encyclopedia and dictionaries about research methods.
Coverage: varies
SAGE Research Methods provides a tool called Method Maps, which visualizes relationships among more than 700 unique methods terms, concepts and people. Method List can be used to compile selected books, book chapters and journal articles for later review or sharing with colleagues.

Note: Waterloo only gets the text (read: eBook/reference work) content from Sage Research Methods. Waterloo subscription to SAGE Research Methods doesn't include SAGE videos.

Academic Journals

Academy of Management Review
The mission of Academy of Management Journal (AMJ) is to publish empirical research that tests, extends, or builds management theory and contributes to management practice.
Administrative Science Quarterly
Administrative Science Quarterly is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering the field of organizational studies.
Decision Analysis
INFORMS journal. Focuses on advancing the theory, application, and teaching of all aspects of decision analysis.
Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice (ETP) is a leading scholarly journal in Entrepreneurship. The journal's mission is to publish original conceptual and empirical research that contributes to the advancement of entrepreneurship.
Human Resource Management
Human Resource Management Journal promotes the understanding of human resource management to academics and practicing managers.
Information Systems Research
INFORMS journal. Covers the latest theory, research, and intellectual development for information systems in organizations, institutions, the economy, and society.
Journal of International Business Studies
The top-ranked journal in the field of international business, Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is multidisciplinary in scope and interdisciplinary in content and methodology, publishing content from across the the eight sub-domains of international business studies.
Journal of Management
The Journal of Management is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by SAGE Publications for the Southern Management Association and covering research on all aspects of management as well as the related field of industrial and organizational psychology.
Journal of Organizational Behaviour
The Journal of Organizational Behavior is a peer-reviewed academic journal published eight times a year by Wiley-Blackwell. The journal publishes empirical reports and theoretical reviews spanning the spectrum of organizational behavior research.
Organization Science
INFORMS journal. Covers groundbreaking research about organizations, including their processes, structures, technologies, identities, capabilities, forms, and performance.
Organization Studies
Journal devoted to the understanding of organizations, organizing, and the organized in and between societies.
Strategic Management Journal
The Strategic Management Journal seeks to publish the highest quality research with questions, evidence and conclusions that are relevant to strategic management and engaging to strategic management scholars.

Case Studies

Business Source Elite
Case studies from several publications are available through Business Source Elite. Search by keyword for your topic, or by publication and select "case study" under Document Type.
Select cases from Harvard Business Review are available through BSE.
ABI Inform
Case studies from several publications are available through ABI Inform. Search by keyword for your topic and select "case study" and/or "business case" under Document Type.
Sage Business Cases
Sage Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs - providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to more than 6,150 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

Course Reserves

Course reserves is a service that works with instructors to make course readings available to students in either paper or electronic formats. Follow the instructors on the Course Reserves for Instructors page to create reserves for your class.

A note about Harvard Business Review

HBR restricts instructors from sharing online articles with students via LEARN or other online educational technologies. Waterloo Library subscribes to HBR in print so that we can make these articles available via course reserves, which complies with the terms of our license agreement. To include HBR articles in your class, please submit a course reserves request.